Getting Over a Reading Slump

Sorry for not posting anything for a while. I have been doing quite a bit of traveling lately and I have now realized the importance of scheduling posts. And since I have been living the airport life, I haven’t really had much time to sit down and relax with a good book for a couple of weeks. To be honest, I have been slacking with my reading recently, but I have been unable to actually get into any of the books I’ve picked up since. And I know that they are not to blame. It’s the dreaded reading slump and I have finally managed to break free! So I figured I should probably tell you a little bit about it in case you were curious or you are in a similar situation and are looking for a way to get back into the world of books.

17424901_286657718412098_7562092813446098141_n

Pinpoint the Reason 

Whether it’s lack of motivation or lack of time, it’s important to realize why you’re unable to enjoy your favorite hobby the way you did a couple of weeks ago. Sometimes, the problem might lay in being too ambitious. You force yourself to read books that you don’t necessarily find too interesting. A person can only read so much Tolstoy in a month, you know. The slump might be a result of not having as much time as before to enjoy a good read. Or perhaps you’re tired and can’t be bothered. Maybe you can’t get into any of the books you have on your TBR list. The options are endless, but figuring it out might help you snap out of it.

Visit Your Favorite Bookstore 

 

Z8Ytnns
Daunt Books in London is one of my favorite bookstores

 

What better place to find reading inspiration than the kingdom of all that is readable? I find that browsing the shelves can help me find a book that I never would have gone for otherwise. That is actually how I decided to read (and listen to) Girl On the Train. It ended up being on of my favorite books of all time. And it was very much out of my comfort zone, as thrillers aren’t usually my thing. But I devoured it anyways and I cannot wait for the author’s next one. I saw the book in Waterstones and the synopsis spoke to me. I think that’s a great way to challenge the power of the reading slump.

(Re)Start Easy

You’ve been out of the loop for a while and it’s hard to jump back in. So don’t make it hard for yourself and start with something light and easy to read. I found a couple of books that really interested me, but I was intimidated by the size of them and the complexity of the storyline and the characters, so I went to J. R. Ward. It was hot, it was spicy and it was an easy read that broke my submission to the reading slump. It was marvelous. Because at the end of the day, for most of us reading is a hobby and a great way to spend our free time. So it should be enjoyable.

Reread a Favorite Book

LOTR_book_covers

You can rarely go wrong with something that you already know you love. Reading an old favorite might be exactly what you need to fall in love with reading all over again. A book you’ve loved in the past has helped shape your reading preferences and the way you absorb you preferred genre. Picking up that influential tome could easily reignite your passion and make you want to rediscover it.

Go With Your Mood

I think this is essential. Sometimes I’m in the mood for an epic high-fantasy novel. Other times I’m in the mood to read Jane Austen. Just go with it and enjoy it. Pick up a book that corresponds to how your feeling and what is happening in your life now. You feel like you need a little pick-me-up? Get yourself something funny and see how it lifts your mood.

Give Yourself a Break

Sometimes you just have to take a break. I realized that I was forcing myself to go too fast and I was being too ambitious with my reading goals. That took the fun out of the experience and made me feel obligated to pick up a book and read it. I gave myself some time off and binged on Netflix instead. Now that I’m sick of Netflix, I can’t wait to pick up a good book and enjoy it. My point is that a reading slump is not something you need to force yourself out of. Let it happen naturally and give yourself a reading break if you feel like it. Reading is supposed to be fun for you. It’s not a chore.

Let me know about your thoughts on reading slumps in the comments. Have you experienced one? How did you deal with it?

Leave a Reply

