Currently Reading and TBR

This time around, I decided to give you a little bit of information about my TBR and what I am reading at the moment. The thing is that I usually like to stick to one book and move on to the next one as soon as I’ve finished. That being said, recently I’ve been into the whole mixing up of books thing. Perhaps that is because of the Outlander series (you can see my reviews on books 1 & 2). I got the audiobook for Voyager (book 3) and it was well over 44 hrs long. That is not a book, friends, that is a commitment. As I mentioned in my review of Dragonfly in Amber, with these long and emotionally draining books, it’s hard to power trough, so I like to take breaks and read something else in the meantime.

Currently Reading:

  • Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

28260587.jpg

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28260587-empire-of-storms?ac=1&from_search=true

This is actually taking me embarrassingly long to get back into. I read the first 4 books of the series in less than 2 weeks, and I somehow lost momentum halfway through the last one. I needed to take a breather. I think I might have had a Celaena overdose for a bit there and I decided to put it down for a while and get back to it ASAP. It is currently on my nightstand, but I haven’t actually felt like reaching for it in the past week or so. It is definitely a good book, but it is quite far from the idea of the first one I think.

  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

22328546.jpg

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22328546-red-queen?ac=1&from_search=true

This one I just started and I am currently located on page 89. I am enjoying it quite a bit, to be honest. The only thing is that it sounds quite familiar. Not that I have read something exactly like this, of course, but it is definitely very reminiscent of other YA series, such as the Hunger Games. Especially the scene where the girls were competing for the crown prince. Many Hunger Games vibes. I will update you with a full on review as soon as I am done with it.

  • Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon

10988

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10988.Drums_of_Autumn?ac=1&from_search=true

This probably does not shock anyone, seeing as I’ve put up reviews for the first two books. I am currently working on a full review for Voyager, which I liked far more than Dragonfly in Amber. Once again, I got the Audible version of the book, and I enjoy listening to it at night before I go to sleep, as well as while traveling. I went to London recently and listened the whole time I was at the airport, in the plane, and on the Tube. It was amazing, and I decided to download the fourth one as well. I have only listened to the first chapter so far, and I’ve read some pretty mixed reviews on GoodReads, but I really hope it’s good. I did manage to run into spoilers, but nothing major. Plus, I am one of the people that do not mind being spoiled in most cases. I’m excited to see how Claire and Jamie progress as a couple and as individual characters in America.

My TBR List:

I will not include my entire TBR list here because that would mean that I would have to be here forever. I will, however, let you know some of the books that I am really REALLY excited about and I will try to get to as soon as possible.

  • Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

30117284.jpg

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30117284-carve-the-mark?ac=1&from_search=true

I picked this beauty up right before my trip, but I refrained from carrying it with me because it’s a hardback… You know what I mean. Nevertheless, I am really excited about it. It was one of my most anticipated reads of 2017, mostly because I really liked the Divergent series and I hope Roth’s new works live up to their hype. The Allegiant movie was a flop, and there won’t be a next one (but there will be a TV movie, I believe), which bums me out, so this new Veronica Roth world better be good.

The reviews do not look promising, and the rating of the book on GoodReads is currently at 3,71, which is not the best. However, I have hope.

  • The Bear and The Nightingale by Katherine Arden

25493853.jpg

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25489134-the-bear-and-the-nightingale?ac=1&from_search=true

I first saw this book on the Foyles website, and the cover of it really caught my attention. I read the synopsis and I thought this might be magnificent, or it might be a complete and utter fail. The Bear and The Nightingale will be the first in a trilogy, and the reviews so far are looking good. Folklore, fantasy, fairy tales, and Medieval Russia as a setting. Sounds pretty damn impressive to me. Plust, take a look at that magnificent cover… While I was in London, I went to Waterstones, and I saw it in the front at the ‘Favorite Debuts’ table. Naturally, I had to pick it up.

  •  Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156.jpg

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23437156-six-of-crows?ac=1&from_search=true

The hype around this book is surreal. I had to read it to see what’s up with all the love. I still haven’t started it, but I am really looking forward to it. I also picked this one up in Waterstones (this is a trend, as you can see) and I was really content that I can have in a paperback version. I couldn’t find it in Bulgaria, but I refrained from downloading it as an ebook in the faint hope that I might find it. When it’s a book that is so well-loved from everyone, I am inclined to believe that I will probably love it too, which, in turn, makes me want it in a physical copy. Definitely towards the top of the list. I also picked up the Crooked Kingdom book too, because half a duology is good for nothing.

  • Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

20983362

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20983362-passenger?from_search=true

In all honesty, I only picked this up because of how many people told me about it. It does sound like it could be right up my alley, but I never felt compelled to select it before. I am not exactly sure why. It deals with time travel, which I love (‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’, ‘ Outlander’) and it’s a YA book, so now that I have it, I am looking forward to reading it within the next couple of weeks. Especially now that the second book is out, I need to catch up!

 

Leave a Reply

